2014 – Exciting Times Ahead!

MatthewOsbornePhotography.co.uk is looking to grow in 2014 with exciting times ahead.

Wedding Photography – I have my highest number of Wedding Photography bookings in the diary to date. Really looking forward to getting out there and starting shooting now. I have been booked for Leica Wedding Photography in Barbados but I have to wait for 2015 for that one!

Leica Photography – The Leica M9 camera is ready to go with a fantastic line up of lenses to use for both Leica Wedding Photography and Fashion and Beauty Portrait Photography.  Newer lenses include Leica Summilux ASPH 50 f1.4, Leica Summicron 50 f2 and Leica Elmar 135mm f4, Zeiss ZM Sonnar 50mm f1.5, Voigtlander Nokton 35mm f1.2 ASPH ii and Voigtlander Super Wide Heliar 15mm f4.5.  I now feel the Leica M9 camera can cover most simtuations I come across during a wedding day.  It really is a fantastic tool for documentary style wedding photography.  I may even look to get a second Leica body so I do not need to change lenses as often.  35mm is great for most occasions but sometimes you need a 50mm (or longer) and sometimes 28mm (or wider).  I felt my most focused during my last Leica wedding when I shot almost the entire wedding day with just the CV 35/1.2 ASPH ii lens.  In the past with my Nikon D800 I changed lenses too frequently so was less focused on what was happening around me. The Leica camera bag is also much smaller and lighter so I am much more mobile to get my shots.

Studio Photography – My Coventry photography studio has a new backdrop and new lights and can make use of the new Leica camera equipment in addition to the Nikon D800 and film cameras.

Location Fashion Photography - I am now more available to travel within the UK and overseas so I am looking forward to shooting in some fantastic new locations and collaborating with new models, designers and makeup artists.

Collaboration – I was luck enough to meet and work with some amazing people in 2013.  As a regular model photographer I am only as good as my model.  2013 saw me work with some extremely talented and beautiful girls both in the UK and overseas.  I strive to discover literally Britain’s next top model to help me raise my game to the next level.  In 2013 I often worked 1 on 1 with models without additional hair and makeup artists.  I found I am able to apply eye makeup and can direct models how to apply their makeup for the look I desire.  I also found myself enjoying styling the models hair during shoots to get new and creative looks from the basic materials.  I will try anything to enhance my photography!  Despite me discovering these un-expected talents, in 2014 I want to now start collaborating more with makeup artists, stylists, clothes designers and model agencies to help a team of people create something really special.

For the 2013 weddings I met some really lovely wedding couples and very helpful venue staff, wedding planners and event managers.  I also worked as a freelance wedding videographer shooting alongside various talented videographers / cinemaphotographers.  I look forward to the wedding photography / videography bookings I have for 2014 and the people I will get to work with at those events.

Event Photography – After photographing a New Year’s Eve fashion show Asian bridal catwalk last night I really got a taste again for event photography. I have covered fashion shows in the past but not as many in 2013. I look forward to getting involved in more fashion shows in 2014.

Studio Photography Workshops – Word is starting to spread that I run photography and lighting tuition workshops from my Coventry studio and the number of bookings continues to increase. I have had interest from as far as Australia as well as clients living in Switzerland and Denmark. I tailor the photography workshops to suit individual needs. Photography courses include: Understanding your new DLSR / digital camera, what is Aperture, Shutter Speed and ISO, how to read a Histogram, RAW or JPEG, how to pose and light a model, flash photography using a speedlight or studiolight, balancing flash light with ambient light and even how to develop black and white film.

Location Photography Workshops
– New for 2014, I plan to run some location photography workshops in some of the UK’s larger cities to begin with such as Birmingham and London. I will arrange for a professional model to join us for the day and will teach you how to pose and light a model on location using both ambient light and speedlights. Looking further ahead I may offer trips to Poland and Ukraine for those interesting in travelling to a different country to work with local models and making use of the countries architecture. Poland and Ukraine are amongst my favourite locations for model photography outside the UK. If you are interested in either UK or overseas photography workshops please get in touch to give me an idea of numbers, thanks.

Film Photography – An exciting year ahead for my film photography. I now have a range of Leica M mount lenses that I can use on my 35mm film camera – Voigtlander Bessa R3A. I have new film backs for my medium format Mamiya RZ67 Pro II so can now shoot it in 6×6 and 645 formats. I plan to do some landscape photography with my 6×9 Russian Moskva-5 folding camera. I am also looking forward to using some new film types and comparing them to the Kodak films I most often use.

Polaroid Photography – I now have a RZ polaroid film back for my Mamiya RZ67 pro II that produces 7×7 images. I have stocked up on the black and white Fujiflim FP-3000B that has now been discontinued and also on colour Fuji FP-100C. Looking forward to doing some RZ polaroid portraits!

All in all exciting times ahead! :)

What else may 2014 bring?

Leica Summilux ASPH 75mm f1.4 – I am really interested in this lens. I see it as a Leica Lux’ 50 but on steroids doing all that I love about the Summilux 50 but bigger and better. The sweet spot for me on the Lux’ 50 is at f1.4 at 0.7M. If I bought a 75mm lens it would be to use at f1.4 at 0.7M as much as possible. This rules out all other 75mm lenses (Leica Summicron and Summarit and Voigtlander Heliar).

Hasselblad Flexbody – Now this really excites me. It is almost large format photography yet you can use and develop 120 medium format roll film in a Patterson tank (rather than sheet film needing a dark room).

Happy New Year from MatthewOsbornePhotography and thanks for the 1000 or so followers that joined me in 2013!

About matthewosbornephotography

Coventry, UK studio based Model and Wedding Photographer offering both Medium Format Film and Digital Images. 1-2-1 Photography and Lighting Tuition also available.
This entry was posted in Film Photography, Leica, Model Photographer, Photography Tuition, Wedding Photographer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2014 – Exciting Times Ahead!

  1. Frank J. Casella says:

    Matt, what a full life you have … exciting how it all comes from the click of the shutter. When you mentioned how many weddings you have booked my first thought was to get a back-up Leica …. and then you mentioned how that is on your ‘list’. I think you are not only an amazing photographer, but a great marketer and business man. You really seem to understand the art of business in the business of art. God continue to bless you !!

Leave a Reply

