Shared: Who Buys A Leica Camera?

Who Buys A Leica Camera?

Image

 

I just found this review and I think it summarises really well who buys a Leica cameraHere

I like to cycle rather than drive, I only have the occasional social drink and I don’t feel a need for expensive holidays.  I spend carefully on day to day items then invest my money in what brings me the most enjoyment – Photography and in particular Leica cameras and lenses.

MatthewOsbornePhotography.co.uk – Leica Wedding Photographer

About matthewosbornephotography

Coventry, UK studio based Model and Wedding Photographer offering both Medium Format Film and Digital Images. 1-2-1 Photography and Lighting Tuition also available.
This entry was posted in Leica and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shared: Who Buys A Leica Camera?

  1. goaheaded says:

    Interesting article, thank you for posting it. I like your work and know that Leica’s create some compelling images; but don’t most cameras “enable you to concentrate on the most important elements of photography – the subject, exposure and composition”? I’ve read where you started with m4/3 cameras. I have have a really basic one (the Lumix GF3) and I LOVE it. Does it really take the price of a used car to achieve such results?

    Do you find that your wedding clients come to you appreciating that you shoot with a Leica? I love the quality of the Leica lenses and aspire to have some of them. I wonder though if more mass market cameras are going to be able to approach that quality and look. Thanks again.

    • Ben Miller says:

      I actually shoot with both the Leica M and m43 systems. The lenses for both systems have amazing image quality. (I’m a prime lens guy and am not vouching for the zoom that are available for m43.) I have shot Canon professional DSLR’s in the past. I’ve always gotten much better photos from the smaller cameras that I’ve owned. They are less intimidating and allow you to get close. I find that there is a time and place for all camera systems. The smaller systems are a better fit for my style of photography. The auto focus on my OM-D is next to none. Shooting with my M9 is more zen-like and the files from the CCD sensor are gorgeous.

      Cheers.

      • Thanks Ben,

        Yes I like the extremes. I have the small discrete Leica M9 then I have the Mamiya RZ67 Pro II huge heavy medium format film camera at the other end of the spectrum. I love them both and as you correctly say each has it’s time and place. Cheers

  2. Thanks. Yes I enjoyed my Lumix G1 (especially with the Leica M mount Voigtlander Nokton 40mm f1.4 attached. Fantastic lens). No you can achieve great photos with any camera. It is just a matter of personal taste. I think wedding clients like photos, whether shot on medium format film, a Leica or otherwise but normally don’t know why they like them. The Leica M9 photos look more like film which is why I love it so much. If I was to invest in the newer Leica M Typ 240 the photos would be more similar to photos with my Nikon D800 as share a similar CMOS sensor. The D800 is a very capable mass market DSLR but mass market DSLRs don’t fit into a body as small as a Leica. It just depends what is important to you. I shoot to satisfy myself. If others like my work then that is a bonus.

    You might want to think about getting a Voigtlander Nokton 40mm f1.4 lens for your GF3. It will transform the camera and i’m pretty sure you will love it. ;) The little lens has a cult following!

    (Plenty of CV Nokton 40/1.4 samples on my blog with G1, Leica M9 and on film (Voigtlander Bessa R3A).

    Merry Christmas!

    • goaheaded says:

      I aspire to get the Voigtlander, right now I’m making due with a Pentax -m 50mm 1.4. I like using it (and other older lenses). I’ve read where Nikon is going to put a full frame sensor into a smaller body. It’ll be interesting to see how that works out.

      Thanks again, and Merry Christmas to you too.

  3. Pingback: Great Loves | pjcharles photography

Leave a Reply

